Rocket Workshops

Blastoff with the History Center this fall!

Destination Moon: The Apollo 11 Mission touches down at the Heinz History Center this fall, and what better way to welcome this once-in-a-generation exhibition to Pittsburgh than with a rocket launch of your very own?

Beginning in August and continuing through September, we’ll be hosting air rocket-building workshops with local libraries throughout the Pittsburgh region and at the History Center for elementary-aged kids. Workshop participants will build and decorate their own paper rockets and learn about the Apollo 11 mission.

Then the excitement happens. The morning of Saturday, Sept. 29, all kids who participated in these workshops and their families are invited to join the History Center for a special blastoff opening day! We’ll do a special countdown and launches of kids’ air rocket creations, all leading up to a motor-powered rocket launch by the South Hills Area Rocket Klub.

Kids who participate will receive FREE admission to the Destination Moon exhibition AND a free astronaut ice cream on September 29 at the History Center!

Dates for workshops are listed below, at community libraries and at the History Center. Please click for more information specific to each workshop, as some require advance registration.

Saturday, Aug. 18 | 6 p.m. at Bethel Park Public Library
Thursday, Aug. 23 | 4:30 p.m. at Sharpsburg Community Library
Friday, Aug. 24 | 2 p.m. at Robinson Twp. Library
Saturday, Sept. 1 |  Drop-in between noon to 3 p.m. at the History Center
Wednesday, Sept. 5 | 3:30 p.m. at Brentwood Library
Wednesday, Sept. 5 | 3:30 p.m. at Millvale Community Library
Saturday, Sept. 8 | 10:30 a.m. at Oakmont Carnegie Library
Saturday, Sept. 8 | Drop-in between noon to 3 p.m. at the History Center
Sunday, Sept. 9 | 2 p.m. at Cooper-Siegel Community Library
Monday, Sept. 10 | 7 p.m. at Whitehall Library
Thursday, Sept. 13 | 5:00 p.m. at Western Allegheny Community Library
Friday, Sept. 14 | 3:30 p.m. at Wilkinsburg Library
Saturday, Sept. 15 | Drop-in between noon to 3 p.m. at the History Center
Wednesday, Sept. 19 | 2:00 p.m. at Mt. Lebanon Library
Wednesday, Sept. 19 | 7:00 p.m. at Northland Public Library
Thursday, Sept. 20 | 4:30 p.m. at Moon Twp. Library
Saturday, Sept. 22 | Drop-in between noon to 3 p.m. at the History Center