31st Annual History Makers Award Dinner

Date & Time
Thursday, May 16, 2024
6:30 PM - 10:00 PM
Location The Westin Pittsburgh 1000 Penn Ave
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Join us in celebrating 2024 History Maker Awardees!

purchase tickets

purchase a program ad

The 31st annual History Makers Award Dinner, presented by BNY Mellon and Citizens, will take place on Thursday, May 16, at The Westin – Pittsburgh.

Since 1992, the Heinz History Center has honored exceptional individuals whose accomplishments, while rooted here in Western Pa., transcend geographic bounds. History Makers profoundly contribute to the innovative history and collective heritage of our region and represent a commitment to excellence that has defined our community. The History Center is proud to celebrate such individuals and to share their remarkable stories.

Funding raised from the Award Dinner helps to preserve our regional history for future generations and provide a space where experiences and learning moments for all ages help make memories that last a lifetime. The History Center tells the stories of Western Pennsylvanians whose hard work, innovation, enterprise, creativity, and courage improved the world and still serves to guide and inspire us today. Like our History Makers, we are encouraged (but not surprised) by stories of Pittsburgh’s can-do spirit and kindness. After all—we are home to “Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood.”

Please contact Angela Gaitaniella, Corporate Relations Director, at amgaitaniella@heinzhistorycenter.org for more information on ways to support the History Center through History Makers Award Dinner sponsorship.

This year's honorees are:


Charlie Batch, Founder 
Latasha Wilson–Batch, Executive Director 
Best of the Batch Foundation 


Diane P. Holder 
Executive Vice President, UPMC 
President and CEO, UPMC Health Plan 


William Pietragallo, II 
Founding Partner 
Pietragallo Gordon Alfano Bosick & Raspanti, LLP 


Manny Sanguillén 
1971 and 1979 World Series Champion 
Pittsburgh Pirates Catcher 


Velma Scantlebury–White, MD 
Co-Founder and CMO, Delaware Health Equity Coalition, Inc. 
Adjunct Professor, Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth College 

Thanks to our generous sponsors